The new Zetech University Student Association (ZUSA) team took an oath to serve and represent the varsity students following a successful student election, during a celebratory ceremony held at the institution’s Thika Road Campus.

The students exercised their democratic right, successfully electing a reputable team of qualified students to represent them, following an intense process headed by the Student Affairs department. A well able electoral team presided over the election which was a welcome development for learners, who have eagerly anticipated a fresh team of student leaders.

During the election that followed the Electoral College system, Eugene Odhiambo and his running mate Faith Khakasa executed a successful campaign that led to a victory in the hotly contested election. The Bachelor of Purchasing and Supply Chain Management student beat his competitor Samuel Adama to win the coveted ZUSA Chairperson post.

The new council vowed to execute their manifesto during the ceremony graced by the University leadership, led by Prof. Alice Njuguna, DVC-Academics, Research and Development. The Council was advised to use the right channels to vocalise the needs of the student fraternity with a commitment from the Management to listen and implement their ideas.

The incoming Chairperson noted his desire and plans to fulfill promises he made in his manifesto. “I am grateful to the Zetech students for trusting me with such an honourable post and I am excited to represent my comrades. I will diligently serve them and ensure they enjoy their student life, in line with the ZUSA constitution.” Eugene said.

Commenting on the election, Elizabeth Muhia, Dean of Student Affairs said, “The voting process went on smoothly at our main and town campuses. The tallying of the votes was done by the electoral body under tight security and the results announced the same night, amid cheers and excitement.”

The successful candidates who were elected are as follows:

  • Eugene Odhiambo- Chairperson
  • Faith Khakasa- Vice Chairperson
  • Kelvin Kirimi- Secretary General
  • Ruth Mwende- Finance Secretary
  • Nicholas Mutwiri-, Academic Affairs Secretary
  • Francis Mutinda-, Sports and Entertainment Secretary
  • Yasmin Mohammad- Social Welfare Secretary

The process involved staff members who served as Chief Returning Officer, Presiding Officers, and Chief Observers while a trained team of students served as electoral clerks.